Lunenburg Academy Heritage Classroom (1893-95)
97 Kaulbach Street
National Historic Site of Canada
For 117 years, students from the Town of Lunenburg and Lunenburg County climbed to the “Castle on the Hill” every weekday to attend school. When the former school near town hall burned down in 1893, there was much debate about rebuilding in Parade Square or relocating to either Blockhouse Hill or, its final destination, Gallows Hill. Architect H.H. Mott of St. John, NB, was contracted to draw the plans, and local master builder Soloman Morash completed the impressive 3 story, 96 x 126 foot building for its official opening on November 7,1895, at a total cost of $30,000. The entirely wood frame Victorian building boasts a mansard roof in the French Second Empire style, and central projecting frontispieces at both front and rear elevations flanked by towers, one which once housed the 650 pound bell forged at Lunenburg Foundry. Designated a National Historic Site in 1983, and owned by the Town of Lunenburg, the Academy is home to local and international businesses, non-profit organizations, and the Lunenburg Public Library. In June 2022, the Academy opened the Heritage Interpretive Classroom, where visitors can experience generations of community pride and discover the stories of students and faculty at one of the last remaining 19th century Academy structures in Canada.
Many thanks to the Lunenburg Academy Foundation