Ironworks Distillery (1893)
2 Kempt Street
Thomas Walters built this industrial structure for his Marine and General Blacksmiths Business, operating for 112 years until 2005. Large 8 over 8 windows faced south to illuminate the workshop area and a louvered cupola provided an escape route for the heat from the coal fired forge. Specializing in “shipsmithing”, Walters crafted anchors, chains, and iron fittings for sailing craft, including Bluenose II and the Hollywood version of The Bounty, both built at the nearby Smith and Rhuland yards. The small lean-to additions were built in 1924. In 2009, new owners Lynne MacKay and Pierre Guevremont preserved the building, installed a beautiful German-made still, produced their first batch of brandy, and went on to create a range of award-winning spirits, many ingredients sourced locally. In 2020, an addition in the rear became a tasting room. After you explore the building and visit the shop, look for Black Beauty in the harbour, where oak casks of rum are “ocean aged” by the currents.
Many thanks to owners Lynne MacKay and Pierre Guevremont